Enlightening Exchanges

I have had a most enlightening exchange. It has been suggested to me by someone whose opinion I value, that I tend toward rhetorical overreach, and am use language inexactly. I thought about it for several days, and tend to find merit in that notion. Though I think some of that comes from the assumptions we all make about what is generally known or accepted by others.

In any case I think we would all benefit by common usage of words and terms. Politicians have become past masters at manipulating language, and as Orwell suggested we cannot let them have control over the language, because with that, thought follows.

If we could agree on terms, words, and meanings then we could all spend more time discussing an idea, less time arguing past each other.

I am not sure how we could do this. Are there any suggestions?

Comments are closed.

